RSS

Duke

31 Jan
It’s the kindness of a horse that you will remember forever.  I had a horse like that, he was so good to me, tried his heart out, sang when we rode together—so I started singing along with him.  He let out huge farts that made me laugh so hard I nearly fell off, had the roughest canter and would try to clothesline you when running through the woods if he could, just to be funny.

Duke with me riding, my neice Serena, and best friend Jodie. This is when I got Duke.

 

His name was Duke and he was my first horse, a big bay draft cross.  I will never forget him.  I will always be thankful for his patience, dedication, and kindness. I hope that he is still alive, happy, and has a family that is kind to him like he was to me.

 

My sister riding Duke and me on my barrel horse, Codger, who was a good old soul too!

 

We used to sing, “Duke, Duke, Duke, Duke of Earl, Duke Duke . . . .”  Maybe one day I will see you again, Duke.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Duke

  1. Sandra

    January 31, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    damnit … make me cry or what. He was a fantastic horse for sure. Even put up with me riding him :o)

     
  2. Deanna

    January 31, 2012 at 7:25 pm

    He was a good, good boy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
